Search Individual media Reference department
Quotations department Media department Reference department
< previous | next >

Cultural highlights of 1991

UK television
New shows
Big Break (BBC1 from 30 April). Game show based on snooker. It runs until 2002.
Bottom (BBC2 from 17 September). Anarchic comedy. First of three series to 1995 but with other stage an film spin-offs.
The Brittas Empire (BBC1 from 3 January). Sitcom set in a leisure centre. It runs for seven series until 1997.
The Darling Buds of May (Yorkshire Television for ITV network, from 7 April). Comedy drama based on the writings of H E Bates.
Family Pride (Central Television for Channel Four and ITV Midlands, from 30 June). Soap, the first in the UK with a mainly Asian cast.
GBH (GBH Films for Channel FOur, from 6 June). Seven-part drama about municipal politics.
Get Your Own Back (BBC1 from 26 September). Children's game show, runs until 31 March 2003, latterly on CBBC.
The House of Eliott (BBC1 from 31 August). Period drama about a 1920s fashion house, runs for three series to 1994.
Joking Apart (BBC1 from 12 January). Sitcom.
Murder Most Horrid (BBC2 from 14 November). Black comedy, with subsequent series in 1994, 1996 and 1999.
Noel's House Party (BBC1 from 23 November). Early Saturday evening light entertainment hosted by Noel Edmunds. Runs until 1999, typically around 20 episodes per season. Responsible for introducing Mr Blobby and Crinkly Bottom.
A Perfect Hero (ITV from 17 May). Second World War mini-series. Screened in the US on Masterpiece Theatre.
Prime Suspect (Granada Television for ITV network, from 7 April). Crime series starring Helen Mirren. Six two-part and one single episode series continue until 2006. Screened in the US on Masterpiece Theatre.
Soldier Soldier (Central Television for ITV network, from 10 June). Drama based on British army life. Runs for seven series to 1997.
Spender (BBC1 from 8 January). Crime series, 20 episodes across three series to 1993.
Spider! (Hibbert Ralph Entertainment for BBC1, from 26 September). Children's animated series of 13 episodes.
2point4 Children (BBC1 from 3 Septmber). Family sitcom with large audience ratings. Runs until 1999.

Chronomedia 1991

Page updated 10 March 2011
David Fisher